Map of the U.S. Pacific Islands Region – Updated

Click to enlarge

The U.S. Pacific Islands region includes the state of Hawaiʻi, as well as the U.S.-Affiliated Pacific Islands (USAPI): the Territories of Guam and American Sāmoa (AS), the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands (CNMI), the Republic of Palau (RP), the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), and the Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI).  While citizens of Guam and CNMI are U.S. citizens, those from AS are U.S. Nationals. Under the Compact of Free Association (COFA) citizens from FSM, RP, and RMI are permitted to live and work in the U.S. without visas, and the U.S. armed forces may operate in COFA areas. On this map, shaded areas indicate the exclusive economic zone (EEZ) of each island, including regional Marine National Monuments.

Courtesy of Laura Brewington, East-West Center

%d bloggers like this: